HOLDING SPACE NOMINATED ARTISTS

June 30th, 2021

6:00PM EST (5:00PM CST/4:00PM PST)

Moderator: Carlo Antonio Ortega Villanueva is a dance artist, relatively new to the DMV. His work in dance and performance is underlined by lifelong pursuits of belonging and feeling "at home." In step with the rhythms of his fellow early-career dance artists living in the United States in the 21st century, Carlo has labored as a performer, choreographer, movement director, educator, stage manager, dramaturg, organizer, representative, agitator, mediator, and consultant; often simultaneously, to varying levels of personal satisfaction, and always with urgency. Through all the structure and strategy our field requires, Carlo hopes we can really see and listen to one another, benevolently. Visit carloantoniovillanueva.com for a CV-style database of Carlo's previous art-works and institutional affiliations.

Stage Manger:  Faryn Kelly is a multi-disciplinary artist and technician, working with a palette of movement, lighting, costume, set, and sound interests and ideas. Originally from Lexington, KY, Faryn graduated with a BFA in Dance from Wright State University in Dayton, OH. Faryn is the lighting supervisor at Dance Place: a dance theater and school for dance located on Nacotchtank, Piscataway, Pamunkey, and Powhatan lands now known as Northeast Washington, DC. As with everything, Faryn’s stage management experience shifted online to navigate livestream broadcasts for Dance Place, Coalescence Showing, and beyond. Outside of Dance Place, she has worked with DMV companies in lighting design, costume design, dance performance, and stage management including Extreme Lengths Productions, darlingdance, and Jane Franklin Dance, and recently, Faryn was selected as one of the 2020 New Releases Festival choreographers. Among her favorite things are travel, instant film, haute couture, space, and chocolate covered espresso beans.